• Sub Slide 1
Toledo Community Foundation

Toledo Community Foundation and BCSN Announce 2016 Scholar and Teacher of the Year

Published on 05/20/2016 by Joanne M Olnhausen

On Thursday, May 19, 2016, Toledo Community Foundation and Buckeye CableSystem/BCSN announced this year’s Scholar and Teacher of the Year. Two of sixteen nominees were chosen by a committee of community leaders and educators as the BCSN Scholar and Teacher of the Year.

Pallavi Lanka of Sylvania Southview High School was named Scholar of the Year and Benjamin Pfeiffer, a chemistry and biology teacher at Clay High School was named Teacher of the Year.

Pallavi Lanka has held numerous leadership positions while in high school, most notably in Youth Leadership Toledo and Youth in Philanthropy Encouraging Excellence (YIPEE), Buckeye Girls State, National Honor Society, Link and a Senate position at Sylvania Southview. She will attend Northeastern Ohio Medical University/University of Akron where she will pursue a medical degree.

A graduate of Clay High School himself, Ben Pfeiffer has been teaching in the Oregon City School District for 14 years. He has dedicated himself to the complete growth of his students by challenging them to the fullest in an environment that is supportive yet rigorous, and as understanding as it is demanding.

The Buckeye CableSystem, BCSN Scholar of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, and recognizes select college bound seniors who will be attending an accredited school of higher education in the United States in the fall of 2016. Each month (October 2015 – May 2016), a Student of the Month was chosen from those applications submitted by the High School counselors whose schools are located within the Buckeye CableSystem Toledo service area. Each scholar of the month qualifies for a $1,000 scholarship to an accredited school of higher education in the United States.

The Scholar of the Year honor is worth $10,000.00 which can be applied towards tuition, room and board (on campus), books and fees. The renewable scholarship will be awarded in increments of $2,500.00 annually, provided the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative G.P.A. and full time status. Local sponsors of the program include The Andersons, Directions Credit Union, Nationwide Auto Finance, Unison Behavioral Health Group and Buckeye CableSystem.

Eight local students were honored for their accomplishments:
• Bradley Billmaier, Cardinal Stritch High School
• Julia Demagall, Maumee High School
• Charlvon Gaston, Scott High School
• Lindsay Hackney, Woodward High School
• Megan Koralewski, Central Catholic High School
• Pallavi Lanka, Sylvania Southview High School
• Sarah Neeper, Toledo Early College High School
• Kaitlyn Ray, Anthony Wayne High School

This is the eighth year BCSN and Toledo Community Foundation have offered the Teacher of the Year program to recognize exemplary educators in our area for the difference they make in the lives of students. The Buckeye CableSystem/BCSN Teacher of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, recognizing High School teachers within the Buckeye CableSystem Toledo service area for inspiring students to learn, displaying innovation and excellence in the classroom.

One Teacher of the Month was announced each month (October 2015– May 2016). From this group of eight Teachers of the Month, one Teacher of the Year was selected.
The Teacher of the Year will receive a $1,000 cash award, a gift for their classroom (value of up to $1,500), and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in their name from which one scholarship will be awarded through the school on an annual basis in perpetuity. Local sponsors include Charlie’s Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram, Grogan’s Towne Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram and Tim Hortons.

The eight local teachers honored:
• Adam Dane, St. John’s Jesuit High School
• Daniel Dick, Sylvania Northview High School
• Lan-Chi “Ivy” Gauler, Maumee Valley Country Day School
• Thomas McCarthy, Ottawa Hills High School
• Brad Oatman, Sylvania Southview High School
• Marty Perlaky, Springfield High School
• Benjamin Pfeiffer, Clay High School
• Gladwyn “Ted” Richardson, Toledo Technology Academy

All applications for both programs are reviewed by Toledo Community Foundation Board and Scholarship Advisory Committee members. Both programs will be offered again through the eligible schools in August.

Contact Us

300 Madison Avenue
Suite 1300
Toledo, OH 43604
P     419.241.5049

Connect With Us

Find Us On Facebook Watch Us On YouTube Follow Us On LinkedIn

Receive Our Newsletter

CF Standards