• Sub Slide 1
Toledo Community Foundation

Toledo Community Foundation and Buckeye Broadband/BCSN Announce 2017 Scholar and Teacher of the Year

Published on 05/25/2017 9:30 pm by Joanne M Olnhausen

On Thursday, May 25, 2017, Toledo Community Foundation and Buckeye Broadband/BCSN announced this year’s Scholar and Teacher of the Year. Two of sixteen nominees were chosen by a committee of community leaders and educators as the BCSN Scholar and Teacher of the Year.

Carley Wymer of Central Catholic High School was named Scholar of the Year and Ryan Creech, art instructor at Sylvania Northview High School was named Teacher of the Year.

Carley Wymer has participated in a wide variety of activities inside and outside of the classroom while in high school. A member of National Honor Society, she was also a member of CCHS’s Quiz Bowl team, Spanish Club, and completed an internship with The Poverty Initiative/Kairos Center for Religious Rights and Social Justice. Carley played softball in high school, and was a member of the crew team. She will attend Miami University where she will pursue her interests in Zoology and Film.

Ryan Creech has been teaching in the Sylvania School District for 21 years. An innovator in the classroom, he has dedicated himself to developing projects that bring personal enjoyment and challenge to his students, and helping students one-to-one. An outstanding art teacher and soccer coach, most admirable is his work to create the Northview Leadership Academy, the only one of its kind in northwest Ohio to focus on Service-Leadership, that provides students the tools they need to step up and serve the school and community.

The Buckeye Broadband/BCSN Scholar of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, and recognizes select college bound seniors who will be attending an accredited school of higher education in the United States in the fall of 2017. Each month (October 2016 – May 2017), a Student of the Month was chosen from those applications submitted by the High School guidance counselors whose schools are located within the Buckeye Broadband Toledo service area. Each scholar of the month qualifies for a $1,000 scholarship to an accredited school of higher education in the United States.

The Scholar of the Year honor is worth $10,000.00 to one individual, which can be applied towards tuition, room and board (on campus), books and fees. The renewable scholarship will be awarded in increments of $2,500.00 annually, provided the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative G.P.A. and full time status. Local sponsors of the program include The Andersons; Directions Credit Union; Hires Dental Care; Nationwide Auto Finance; and Unison Behavioral Health Group.

Eight local students were honored for their accomplishments:
• Quinn Arbaugh, St. Ursula Academy
• Jake Cowan, St. John’s Jesuit High School
• Jenna Horvath, Clay High School
• Tylin McCauley, Bowsher High School
• Micayla Moldenke, Whitmer High School
• Alyssa Schad, Toledo Early College
• Carley Wymer, Central Catholic High School
• Danielle Zarnick, Anthony Wayne High School

This is the ninth year Buckeye Broadband/BCSN and Toledo Community Foundation have offered the Teacher of the Year program to recognize exemplary educators in our area for the difference they make in the lives of students. The Buckeye Broadband/BCSN Teacher of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, recognizing High School teachers within the Buckeye Broadband Toledo service area for inspiring students to learn, displaying innovation and excellence in the classroom.

One Teacher of the Month was announced each month (October 2016– May 2017). From this group of eight Teachers of the Month, one Teacher of the Year was selected.
The Teacher of the Year will receive a $1,000 cash award and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in their name from which one scholarship will be awarded through the school on an annual basis in perpetuity. Local sponsors include Charlie’s Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram; Easter Seals Northern Ohio; and Grogan’s Towne Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram.

The eight local teachers honored:
• Jami Barnes, Maumee Valley Country Day School
• Ryan Creech, Sylvania Northview High School
• Jodi Fryman-Reed, Whitmer High School
• Tammy Mansfield, Springfield High School
• McKenna Reitz, Springfield High School
• Kristin Wamer, Clay High School
• Donna Wipfli, Ottawa Hills High School
• Mark Zientek, Toledo Technology Academy

All applications for both programs are reviewed by Toledo Community Foundation Board and Scholarship Advisory Committee members. Both programs will be offered again through the eligible schools in August.

# # #

Contact Us

300 Madison Avenue
Suite 1300
Toledo, OH 43604
P     419.241.5049

Connect With Us

Find Us On Facebook Watch Us On YouTube Follow Us On LinkedIn

Receive Our Newsletter

CF Standards