• Sub Slide 1
Toledo Community Foundation

TCF and BCSN Announce 2018 Scholar and Teacher of the Year

Published on 05/11/2018 by Joanne Olnhausen

On Thursday, May 10, 2018, Toledo Community Foundation and Buckeye Broadband/BCSN announced this year’s Scholar and Teacher of the Year. Two of sixteen nominees were chosen by a committee of community leaders and educators as the BCSN Scholar and Teacher of the Year.

Deborah Tan of Springfield High School was named Scholar of the Year and Allison Gogel, a history teacher at Toledo School for the Arts was named Teacher of the Year.

Deborah Tan has participated in a wide variety of activities inside and outside of the classroom while in high school. A member of National Honor Society, she was also a member of Springfield’s Science Olympiad and Drama Club. Deborah played tennis in high school, and was selected as a representative for the girls’ tennis team to promote leadership in athletics. She attended the Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminar (HOBY) and was a delegate for Buckeye Girls State, among other leadership conferences and positions. Deborah will attend the University of Michigan in the fall where she will focus her studies on the sciences.

Allison Gogel has been teaching social studies at Toledo School for the Arts for eight years. At Toledo School for the Arts, faculty members creatively supplement their instruction by integrating the Arts into their lesson planning. Ms. Gogel was recognized for bringing together her teaching colleagues in science and theatre to create a more visual representation; a great example of how both academic and artistic excellence can co-exist.

The Buckeye Broadband/BCSN Scholar of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, and recognizes select college bound seniors who will be attending an accredited school of higher education in the United States in the fall of 2018. Each month (October 2017 – May 2018), a Student of the Month was chosen from those applications submitted by the High School guidance counselors whose schools are located within the Buckeye Broadband Toledo service area. Each scholar of the month qualifies for a $1,000 scholarship to an accredited school of higher education in the United States.

The Scholar of the Year honor is worth $10,000.00 to one individual, which can be applied towards tuition, room and board (on campus), books and fees. The renewable scholarship will be awarded in increments of $2,500.00 annually, provided the student maintains a 3.0 cumulative G.P.A. and full time status. Local sponsors of the program include Directions Credit Union; Hires Dental Care; Nationwide Auto Finance; Siena Heights University; and Unison Health.

Eight local students were honored for their accomplishments:
• Michael Allen – St. Francis de Sales High School
• Mitali Dalwalla – Sylvania Northview High School
• Mikayla DeMoe – Maumee High School
• Zoe Flores – Start High School
• Emily Ray – Anthony Wayne High School
• Kylee Stewart – Central Catholic High School
• Jamieson Stout – Notre Dame Academy
• Deborah Tan – Springfield High School

This is the tenth year Buckeye Broadband/BCSN and Toledo Community Foundation have offered the Teacher of the Year program to recognize exemplary educators in our area for the difference they make in the lives of students. The Buckeye Broadband/BCSN Teacher of the Year program is administered by Toledo Community Foundation, recognizing High School teachers within the Buckeye Broadband Toledo service area for inspiring students to learn, displaying innovation and excellence in the classroom.
One Teacher of the Month was announced each month (October 2017– May 2018). From this group of eight Teachers of the Month, one Teacher of the Year was selected.
The Teacher of the Year will receive a $1,000 cash award and a $10,000 endowed scholarship fund in their name from which one scholarship will be awarded through the school on an annual basis in perpetuity. Local sponsors include Charlie's Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram; Gallon, Takacs, Boissoneault & Schaffer; and Grogan's Towne Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

The eight local teachers honored are:
• Mr. Daniel Cohen – Maumee Valley Country Day School
• Ms. Katy Creecy – Sylvania Southview High School
• Mr. Jeremy Davis – Northview High School
• Mr. Sam Evans – Maumee High School
• Ms. Allison Gogel – Toledo School for the Arts
• Ms. Jessica Kozy – Ottawa Hills High School
• Ms. Marie Minniear – Toledo Christian Schools
• Mr. Brandon Roberts – Clay High School

All applications for both programs are reviewed by Toledo Community Foundation Board and Scholarship Advisory Committee members. Both programs will be offered again through the eligible schools in August.
# # #

Contact Us

300 Madison Avenue
Suite 1300
Toledo, OH 43604
P     419.241.5049

Connect With Us

Find Us On Facebook Watch Us On YouTube Follow Us On LinkedIn

Receive Our Newsletter

CF Standards